Role of the Performer – RIHANNA

Rihanna, A.K.A. Robyn Rihanna Fenty, was born in 1988 in Barbados. She moved to America when she was only 16 years old to begin her career in Connecticut. Rihanna stated, “When I left Barbados, I didn’t look back…I wanted to do what I had to do, even if it meant moving to America.”, while looking back on her past (Rihanna). Leaving her country and family really shows how dedicated she is to the music industry and her career.

In 2005, Rihanna performed an important audition in the presence of the famous Jay-Z, in which she was signed on the spot. Eight months later, her first single came out called, “Pon de Replay“, which reached number 2 on the Billboard singles chart. This song was composed by  Vada Nobles, Alisha Brooks, Carl Sturken and Evan Rogers in the U.S.A. (Pon de Replay).

I love the reggae type feel to this club mix, it’s so unique and I’ve always loved Rihanna’s accent. The rhythm of the music is so catchy it just makes you want to dance and the lyrics are so memorable. Surprisingly, I haven’t heard this song in probably 5 years and I knew every lyric. As everyone says, Rihanna has always made an impact! Below is the video to her first hit single, “Pon de Replay“.

From 2005 to now, her music career blown up and there doesn’t seem to be an end in sight. Personally, she is one of my favorite artists. Not only because she started out as someone completely normal and had the odds against her, but also because she rose up and took hold of her opportunities and never let her dream escape her. She makes me feel empowered through her music and I know many other women admire her strength in music and attitude as well. The first song that really made me feel powerful when I sang along was “Take a Bow“. It was produced in 2008 and was composed by Tor Erik Hermansen, Mikkel Eriksen, and Shaffer Smith in the U.S.A. (Take A Bow). It has a very sarcastic vibe to it and there is clear resentment in this song, but she’s cool, calm, and collective about being betrayed, which adds to why I like this song so much.

Here’s the music video below.

Rihanna has many more hit songs that I chose not to mention here because upon researching I noticed that my favorite songs by her were pretty vulgar! But I do really like how powerful she portrays herself and, in watching interviews of her, she seems like a strong woman in general and doesn’t let people mistreat her. I’ll always be a huge fan of hers due to her music, talent, and strong persona!

I hope you guys enjoyed this blog and hopefully you learned something new about Robyn Fenty.

“Rihanna.” Biography.com. A&E Networks Television, 30 Nov. 2016. Web. 23 Mar. 2017.

“Pon de Replay.” Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 24 Feb. 2017. Web. 23 Mar. 2017.

“Take a Bow (Rihanna song).” Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 21 Mar. 2017. Web. 23 Mar. 2017.

Leave a comment